Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in DWI convictions


Texas Requiring DWI Offenders to Use Ignition Interlock DevicesSince 2015, Texas law has required many people convicted of driving while intoxicated to use ignition interlock devices on their vehicles as a condition of restoring their driving privileges. The new program is meant to reduce incidents of intoxicated driving by previous offenders and provide some first-time offenders an alternative to a suspended driver’s license. Mothers Against Drunk Driving, an organization that advocated for the law, claims that the number of drunk driving deaths in Texas have decreased by 8.5 percent since the law was passed. Because of the newness of the law, it is difficult to find a comprehensive source clearly explaining the ignition interlock device program. Here are the answers to some basic questions.

What Is It?

An ignition interlock device is a small breathalyzer connected to a vehicle’s ignition system and typically located on the vehicle’s passenger side. Before starting the vehicle, the driver must breath into the device. If the breath alcohol content is greater than a preset limit, then the vehicle will not start. After a vehicle is started, the device will sometimes require the driver to provide an additional breath sample to prove continued sobriety. The driver will be alerted of the retest and given time to pullover to a safe location before providing another sample.

...
Last modified on

Exploring the New Non-disclosure Law Requirements in Texas Being charged and found guilty of driving while under the influence (DWI) can be a costly venture both financially and personally. Attorney fees, fines, possible restitution and a tarnished reputation but is there a way to put it all behind you?

If you reside in Texas, you and your attorney may find solace in the non-disclosure process described within Government Code 411.081(d). Often viewed as a method to provide those guilty of a misdemeanor to begin the process of regaining control of not only their private but public life. The process known as non-disclosure involves petitioning for a deferred adjudication and if successful can seal all records from dissemination from public view by the Texas Department of Public Safety.

As originally legislated, this process was confusing as even though a person charged with a DWI offense who received a reduction and further deferred adjudication his or her DWI arrest record was still available as a public record.

...
Last modified on

Texas DWI attorneyIn the state of Texas, even a first DUI/DWI can result in heavy penalties, including the loss of a license, jail time, fines, and an annual fee to retain your license once it can be reinstated. What happens, though, when a first mistake turns into a second or third? What are the consequences for those who are caught driving intoxicated years later, or beyond a third time? The following outlines the laws in Texas for subsequent DWI convictions.

Second and Third DUI Convictions

Texas has an indefinite “lookback” period, meaning your DUIs and DWIs are never truly forgotten by the justice system. Every conviction counts against you, regardless of how much time has lapsed. So, even if your last conviction was 20 years ago, and you were recently arrested for an allegedly driving intoxicated, you are looking at charges for a second DWI.

...
Last modified on

Office

Bexar County

In the historic King William District

1011 S. Alamo,
San Antonio, Texas 78210
210-226-0965
888-726-5625 Toll Free
210-226-7540

Office

Guadalupe County

109 Court Street,
Seguin, Texas 78155
830-372-1522
888-726-5625 Toll Free