Understanding the Severity of a First-Offense DWI in San Antonio
Driving while intoxicated, also known as a DWI, is a criminal offense that is relatively common in most areas of Texas and the greater United States. Few experiences can be more nerve-wracking than having a couple of drinks with your buddies after work, only to be pulled over by a police officer on your way home. If a police officer pulls you over for a suspected DWI, you may be asked to perform a few tests that will be used to determine whether you are impaired by alcohol or another substance. While it is true that these kinds of tests do not have 100 percent accuracy, they are usually accurate in the vast majority of cases. So, if you have been arrested and charged for a first-time DWI in Texas, it is essential to be aware of the penalties you may face if you are convicted.
It can be easy to feel like all hope is lost if you have been charged with DWI. However, it is important to understand that qualified legal representation can assist you in fighting the charges and working towards a reduced sentence or dropping the charges altogether. If you have been charged with DWI, contact an experienced DWI defense attorney who will work to ensure your rights are protected while also pursuing a favorable case outcome in your favor.
Failing or Refusing a Chemical Test
The first penalty for failing or refusing a chemical test for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is an ALR, also known as an Administrative License Revocation. For example, if you submit to chemical testing and your BAC is above the legal limit of 0.08 percent, your license will be suspended for a period of 90 days. On the other hand, if you decide to decline a chemical test, you may face a license suspension of 180 days. Notably, getting your license suspended through an ALR is separate from any added penalties you may up against related to your first-offense DWI.
Auxiliary Consequences of a First-Time DWI in San Antonio
In Texas, a first-offense DWI is considered a Class B misdemeanor offense, carrying penalties that may include a 180-jail sentence, $2,000 in penalties, or both. In cases involving a first offense, a judge may impose community service as a punishment or probation, assuming the alleged offender is convicted or pleads guilty. Community service may involve the following:
- A drug or alcohol evaluation
- Rehabilitation, if a drug or alcohol problem is determined by your evaluation
- A 12-hour educational DWI program
Once you complete community service, your DWI may be cleared. However, if you need to drive during the period in which you are supervised, you will need to apply to receive an occupational license. In addition, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
Contact a San Antonio DWI Attorney
If you have been charged with DWI in Texas, contact the skillful and knowledgeable San Antonio DWI lawyers with Law Offices of Sam H. Lock. Call 210-226-0965 for a free consultation.