Penalties for a First-Time DWI in Texas
If you have been pulled over by the police on suspicion of driving while intoxicated (DWI), you may rightfully be nervous. You will be asked to perform a series of tests to determine whether you are impaired. While the tests do not have perfect accuracy, they can determine intoxication most of the time. It is important to know the penalties that you may face following a first-time DWI and hire a trusted attorney who can help fight for a reduced sentence or dropped charges.
Failing or Refusing a Chemical Test
The first penalty that you may face is an Administrative License Revocation (ALR). If a post-arrest chemical test to determine your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) shows a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher, you will have your driver’s license suspended for 90 days. If you refuse to submit to a chemical test to determine your BAC, you are facing a 180-day driver’s license suspension. Losing your license through an ALR is separate from any additional criminal penalties that you may face.
Additional Criminal Penalties for a First-Time DUI in Texas
If you are charged with a first-time DWI offense, you are facing a Class B misdemeanor. Under Texas law, the penalties could be as high as 180 days in jail, $2,000 in fines, or both. However, judges will often grant first-time offenders community service or probation following a guilty plea or verdict, which will allow them to resume their daily activities. Community service requirements include:
- Evaluation to determine whether the offender has a drug or alcohol problem
- Drug and alcohol rehabilitation, if deemed to be appropriate
- Completion of a 12-hour DWI education program
Upon completion of the community supervision requirements, the DWI offense will be discharged. If you still need to drive during the supervision period, you will need to apply for an occupational license and have an ignition interlock device installed on all your vehicles. If there are additional offenses related to the DUI charge, including intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter, you will be facing more serious charges with much higher penalties.
Contact a San Antonio First-Time DWI Lawyer
If you have been charged with a DWI, you can trust the Bexar County drunk driving defense attorney at Law Offices of Sam H. Lock to fight for your interests. We will work to get you the best possible sentence. Call 210-226-0965 today to schedule your free initial consultation and take the first step to getting your life back together.