As several states have eased up on punishments for marijuana possession and expanded its legal use, Texas lawmakers are proposing changes to its marijuana laws that could decrease the number of criminal drug charges. Texas is known for having strict marijuana laws:
- Possessing any amount of marijuana weighing 2 oz. or less is a Class B misdemeanor, which can result in up to 180 days in prison and a $2,000 fine.
- Texas passed a 2015 law that gives medical patients access to use low-THC cannabis, but physicians can only prescribe it to patients diagnosed with intractable epilepsy.
Lawmakers have presented more than a dozen marijuana-related bills in the Texas legislature, but two are getting the most attention. They are a long way from being voted on and will face opposition from conservatives in the legislature. However, advocates for marijuana law reform hope the bills will at least continue the conversation towards eventual changes.
Texas House Bill 81...