San Antonio DWI Attorney
Texas DWI Defense Lawyer Representing Clients in Bexar County and Throughout Central Texas
The consequences of DWI and DUI charges in the state of Texas are very serious, including jail time, license suspension and hefty fines. The domino effect of DWI and DUI can be the worst part for many people: you go to jail, you miss work, you lose your license and then miss more work and eventually lose your job. Then, because you have a criminal record, it can be difficult to gain future employment, since most employers investigate applicants for criminal history.
The Law Offices of Sam H. Lock aggressively fights against charges of DWI, DUI and other intoxication offenses, including:
- Intoxication Assault
- Intoxication Manslaughter
- Breath Test Failure
- Breath Test Refusal
- Boating While Intoxicated (BWI)
- Administrative License Revocation
DWI, or Driving While Intoxicated, is defined as anyone driving with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. DWI is a crime punishable by up to 180 days in jail, a maximum fine of $2,000 and possible license suspension for the first offense. Those with prior convictions for DWI face even stiffer penalties. Even bonding subsequent offenders out of jail before the initial court date becomes a dicey proposition in some cases. A third DWI offense may even be charged as a third degree felony, carrying a penalty of up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
DUI, or Driving Under the Influence, applies to drivers under the age of 21 who are suspected of operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.02% or higher. Texas has a “zero tolerance” policy toward minors who drink and drive, and DUI is a Class C Misdemeanor punishable by up to a $500 fine, 20 to 40 hours of community service and a 60-day license suspension. Minors caught with BAC of 0.08% or higher can be subject to the same penalties as drivers over the age of 21.
Newly enacted laws sanction those convicted of D.W.I. with surcharges that must be paid in order to maintain a driver's license. These DWI conviction surcharges are added to any court imposed sanctions. It is now more important than ever to avoid costly DWI convictions.
The Law Offices of Sam H. Lock proudly serves clients in Central and South Texas (San Antonio, Austin, Del Rio, El Paso, Midland, Pecos and Waco). Call today to set up an initial consultation with attorney Sam Lock. There are two offices for your convenience. You can reach the San Antonio office at 210-226-0965 or you can call the Seguin office at 830-372-1522. You may also reach our DWI attorney through the online contact form.
Texas DWI Penalties
|First||Class B Misdemeanor||Up to $2000 fine and/or jail, 3 to 180 days and driver's license suspension, 90 to 365 days|
|Second||Class A Misdemeanor||Up to $4000 fine and/or jail, 30 days to 1 year and driver's license suspension, 180 days to 2 years|
|Third||3rd Degree Felony||Up to $10,000 fine and/or jail, 2 to 10 years and driver's license suspension, 180 days to 2 years|